Volontariat

Volontariat dans les bibliothèques de FAVL

FAVL est une organisation gérée par des bénévoles, des gens comme vous qui sont prêts à s’engager et  à aider des petites bibliothèques de village en Afrique rurale. Etes-vous d'avis que les enfants, les jeunes adultes, les agriculteurs, les tisserands, les commerçants, et d'autres dans ces villages très pauvres  ont droit au même accès à l'information et aux livres que les  gens dans les pays développés? Si votre réponse est oui, alors n’hésitez pas à vous  joindre à nous!

FAVL VolunteersSi vous pouvez passer quelque temps au Burkina Faso, au Ghana, en Ouganda ou en Tanzanie, nous aimerions beaucoup vous accueillir comme volontaire à condition que vous vous engagiez pour au moins un mois.  Vous devez aussi  être en mesure de financer  votre voyage et votre séjour, et vous devez être prêt à faire face aux conditions de vie difficiles en Afrique rurale où les maladies comme le paludisme, la méningite et la dysenterie sont courantes.   

Il faut environ 1500  dollars pour les billets d'avion (à partir des Etats-Unis),  500 dollars pour les vaccins et l'assurance, 1000 dollars pour couvrir la nourriture et l'hébergement dans un village pour une période de  six à huit semaines, et 1000 dollars pour les frais encourus par FAVL pour organiser et soutenir votre séjour.   Un montant de 4000 dollars  est donc généralement suffisant pour une incroyable expérience d'immersion. Si vous êtes  étudiant à l'université, vous pouvez faire une demande  de financement  à votre institution pour aider à défrayer une partie du coût de votre voyage. Vous pouvez aussi être éligible pour obtenir des unités pédagogiques.

Nous devons vous prévenir que les conditions de vie sont très dures dans les régions où sont situées les bibliothèques de FAVL.  Ces régions sont parmi les plus pauvres au monde.  Les gens sont extraordinaires et votre expérience sera probablement unique, mais vous risquez de tomber malade à un moment ou à un autre.  Les maladies épidémiques sont nombreuses en Afrique. Vous devez donc vous préparer soigneusement et bien réfléchir avant de vous porter volontaire.   FAVL ne peut être responsqble de votre expérience comme bénévole; vous travaillerez directement avec une biliothèque locale. .

Guides pour nos bénévoles Ghana | Burkina Faso | Tanzanie

Volontariat aux Etats-Unis

Si vous êtes en mesure de nous aider  aux États-Unis, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter. Nos besoins les plus pressants sont pour la publicité  et les collectes de fonds. Vous pouvez télécharger et distribuer (par impression ou par courriel) des exemplaires de notre newsletter.

Dons de livres

Veuillez noter qu’en général nous n’acceptons pas les dons de  livres d’occasion parce que le coût de la livraison en Afrique est prohibitif. A moins qu’il ne s’agisse de livres particulièrement appropriés pour des bibliothèques africaines rurales (livres d'auteurs africains, livres pour enfants présentant des thèmes de l'Afrique) , nous vous recommandons de donner vos livres à votre bibliothèque locale.  Si vous voulez soutenir FAVL, vous pouvez par contre organiser une vente de livres dans votre quartier afin de ramasser des fonds que FAVL utilisera pour acheter des livres sur place en Afrique.

Guides pour nos bénévoles

FAVL Newsletters

Volunteer

Organize a Read-a-thon to help African village libraries

Interested in organizing a Read-a-thon in your school or community to raise money for libraries in Africa? FAVL can help you get started. Materials to help you kick-off a read-a-thon are available for downloading here: setup material and sponsor forms. To kick off a Read-a-Thon you, or a FAVL representative would provide a brief presentation on what life is like in Ghana and Burkina Faso and the role of FAVL libraries. FAVL can supply a slideshow of pictures and short video clips. A sample of video clips are available on the FAVL blog.

Volunteer in an African village library

FAVL is a small, all-volunteer organization. We depend on people like you, volunteers interested and committed to helping small village libraries in rural Africa. Do you believe that children, young adults, farmers, weavers, traders, and others in very poor villages should have the same access to information- books and other media- as people in developed countries? Do you think that development can only happen when people are empowered by access to information and the habits of reading and critical thinking? Then please join us!

FAVL VolunteersIf you can spend some time in Burkina Faso, Ghana, Uganda or Tanzania, we'd love to have you volunteer, with a few requirements: you should be willing to commit to a minimum of one month for your stay; you should be able to finance your trip and volunteer stay; you should be aware that living conditions in rural Africa are difficult and there is a high disease burden (malaria, meningitis, dystentery); French-speaking required for Burkina Faso.

It takes about $1500 for airfare and $500 for shots and trip preparation and insurance, and $1000 for a 6-8 week period to cover your food and lodging in a village, and $1000 to FAVL to cover the expenses associated with hosting and arranging your stay in the village, so $4000 is usually enough for an incredible immersion experience. If you are a university student, you can often apply for funding from your university to help pay for part of the cost of your trip. You may be able to get course credit for your experience. Another option is to have a fund-raiser for your trip, which would raise additional funds for FAVL as well.

We should warn you: conditions in these regions are very rough. These are among the poorest regions of the world. The people are amazing, and you'll have a great time and learn an amazing amount, but you will get sick! Serious diseases are epidemic in Africa. You need to be aware of that and do a lot of background preparation. FAVL cannot take responsibility for your volunteer immersion experience; you will be volunteering directly with the local library.

Guides for Library Volunteers - Northern Ghana | Burkina Faso | Tanzania

Volunteer in the United States

If you are able to help here in the United States, please contact us! Our most pressing need is for publicity and fund-raising. Please download and distribute (via print or email) copies of our newsletter.

Book donations

Please note: In general we do not need used books. Shipping books is expensive, so unless they are very suited for the rural African libraries we support (books by African authors, children's books featuring African themes) please donate them to your local library. Better yet, organize a book swap in your neighborhood and use the occasion to raise funds for FAVL to be used to buy local books appropriate for local conditions. Library support organizations that ship used books to African libraries are listed on our Links page.

Guides for Volunteers

FAVL Newsletters

African Book Donations